top of page
Search
  • sbccambassadorwebs

How I Found Opportunities and Had Fun in a New Place (Huy Dinh)

My name is Huy Dinh, and I am from Vietnam. Coming to the USA from another side of the world gives me many different feelings and experiences, yet, I manage to stay on top of my life because you will never know what the future holds.


I have had a few to little experiences before coming to Santa Barbara for college experience and education since I finished high school in Minnesota. However, it’s a completely different weather and setting where I need to adapt. Luckily, little do I know that Santa Barbara has been rated one of the best places, if not the best, to live in.


More than that, Santa Barbara City College has offered me many opportunities to grow as a person through a welcoming community, amazing instructors, and bustling location. Normally, the classes range from Monday to Thursday depending on your schedule of choice. During the day, you can see many students walking on campus whether to get to their class or just to hang out with friends, making the campus look lively and active. After class, the students usually spend the rest of their day finishing up homework, going to State Street, Stearns Wharf, waiting for sunset, running groceries, etc. So if you think you’re not going to be busy, get ready because there are many things to do in Santa Barbara.


During the weekend, the students could explore Stearns Wharf, Butterfly Beach, Leadbetter Beach, State Street, etc. along with many other activities that never keep you bored. Other than Santa Barbara, students can take the bus or drive to LA which is one of the most populated areas and of course there are many things to do in the city of angels. To find some spots that are more lively and refreshing, California has Palm Springs, Big Bear Lake, Ventura, Thousand Oaks, etc.


Ultimately, SBCC offers you more than education and amazing experiences outside of school that you will find your time here valuable and memorable. I have enjoyed it so far and I know that there will be more to come.



28 views0 comments
bottom of page